Isaac’s Birthday Party

I can’t believe little Ikey has turned 5 (well, he turns 5 on Tuesday), but today was his birthday party.  Ikey was very adamant that he wanted an Angry Birds birthday cake (Angry Birds is a game he plays on the iPhone).  A friend of Leah’s was going to make the decorations for the cake, but forgot :(

Luckily, I’d already planned to make a bunch of mini cupcakes in the theme’s colours.  So, I quickly created some little flags on the computer and the Angry Bird’s cake was saved!  And the (gluten-free) mini cupcakes were SO YUMMY.  One of the guests at the party told me he’d trade me wine for cupcakes any time (he’s a liquor sales rep).

Angry Birds Mini Cupcakes

Of course, I was 45 minutes late to the party.  I kinda dawdled my way through the morning and then panicked when I realized I was running out of time.

First, I rolled out of bed, grabbed the clothes I wore to church the night before, slapped a ball cap on my head and headed for Starbucks.  I was so excited to find out that a gift card I received had $25 on it.  I had a nice chat with the Starbucks barista.  I told him I’d only just got out of bed 12 minutes before.

Then I went to the grocery store and bought way more stuff than I’d planned (as usual).  Grocery shopping with a venti latte in hand is tricky.  I spent a bunch of time looking at crochet magazines, but managed to talk myself out of buying one.  I got home at 11:15 – the party was starting at 13:00 – and I still had to make the cupcakes!  Terry helped with sprinkles and fetching things and making the birthday card, etc.

Isaac opening his presents (with his cousin looking on)

Ikey’s party was a casual affair – lawn chairs in Leah’s driveway, with kids running and riding all over the place.  Ikey wiped out on his bike and somehow did a handstand before landing on his side (in the grass).  We all cheered like he did it on purpose and he gave the cutest little grin.

We just gave him some cash and I’m going to take him shopping for a present on Tuesday.  Click here for a little video of Isaac opening presents.

The birthday boy

Plans for the rest of the day:  clean up the kitchen and dig some holes for transplanting hostas to my backyard.

The cupcake mess I came home to.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for saving the day!!!

    Reply
  2. Roselle

     /  May 27, 2012

    Thank you Jennie now I feel like I was at the party too and I like that alot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

